5218 to contest House of Assembly elections

Total of 5,218 candidates are seeking election into the 36 State Houses of Assembly today, according to figures from the Independent National Elecoral Commission (INEC).

Of this number, 743 are females while 4,475 are males.

Besides, 22 women are in the race to become state governor.

The News Agency of Nigeria (NAN) reported that Abia, Adamawa, Akwa Ibom, Benue, Cross River, Nassarawa, Nelectionsiger, Ogun, Rivers, Sokoto and Taraba have one female governorship candidate each.

Two female candidates each are in the race in Delta, Ebonyi, Kano, Kwara and Lagos States, while three female candidates are contesting in Enugu State.

There are no female candidates in Bauchi, Borno, Gombe, Imo, Jigawa, Kaduna, Katsina, Kebbi, Oyo, Plateau, Yobe and Zamfara states.

Overall,13 candidates are slugging it out for the Abia state governorship seat while 14 are in the race in Akwa Ibom State. Benue and Nasarawa States have eight candidates each.

Nineteen candidates are contesting in Enugu State, 13 in Borno, nine in Ebonyi and four in Jigawa.

The rest are:Gombe-12, Adamawa-12, Oyo -12, Bauchi -10,Niger -10, Cross River -5, Yobe-5, Imo -22,Kano -22,Kaduna -14, Katsina 14, and 17 each in Kebbi, Lagos, Kwara, and Ogun States.

Plateau State has 16 governorship candidates, Delta State has 6, Rivers 18, Sokoto 21 candidates and Zamfara 20.

The statistics also showed that one female candidate each is contesting for a legislative seat in Katsina and Yobe States, 27 candidates in Abia, 10 each in Adamawa and Cross River and nine each in Akwa Ibom and Bayelsa. It also revealed that 65 female candidates each are contesting in Anambra and Enugu states; Delta, 36 candidates; Ebonyi, 14; Edo, 12; Ekiti, 35; Gombe and Bauchi, seven each; and Benue,11. Borno and Nasarawa States have two candidates each in the contest; Imo, 30; Jigawa and Sokoto, three each; and Kaduna, eight candidates.

In Kebbi , Kano and Kogi States, 18 female candidates each are in the race; Lagos, 43 candidates; Niger, 13; Ogun, 41; Ondo, 26; Osun, 71; Oyo, 31; Plateau, 28; Rivers, 17; Taraba,15, and five in Zamfara. In Abia, the data showed 140 candidates are in the race; Adamawa,149; Akwa Ibom, 121; Anambra, 243; Benue, 119; Balyelsa, 145; Borno, 126; Cross River, 85; Delta, 193; Ebonyi, 115, and 108 in Edo.

The commission’s records also indicated that in Ekiti, 132 candidates will vie for assembly seats in the elections; Enugu, 155; Gombe, 101; Imo, 256; Jigawa, 82; Kaduna, 113; Kano, 249, and Katsina, 7. Kebbi has 109 candidates; Kogi, 110; Kwara, 125; Lagos, 209; Nasarawa state and Niger, 117 each; 191 candidates in Ogun; 172 in Ondo; Osun, 195; Oyo 241; Plateau, 87; Rivers and Sokoto, 163 each, Taraba, 111; Yobe, 70, and Zamfara, 148.

Post a Comment