APC wins 18 of 33 seats in Oyo parliament

The All Progressives Congress (APC) has won 18 of the 33 seats in the Oyo State House of Assembly.

The results of the state as­sembly poll, which were released yesterday, by the Independent National Elec­toral Commission (INEC), also revealed that the Accord Party won eight seats, while the Labour Party (LP) won the remaining six seats. The results had been announced in each of the 32 constituencies in the state. No seat in the parlia­ment was won by the Peoples Democratic Party (PDP) in the election.

Meanwhile, thousands of APC supporters stormed the residence of Governor Abiola Ajimobi yesterday, to felici­tate with him on his electoral victory.

In an interview with news­men, shortly after he was declared winner, Ajimobi thanked the electorate for the confidence they reposed in him and dedicated his victory to God. He said his opponent in the LP, Otunba Adebayo Alao-Akala, made a phone call to him before the results of the governorship poll was offi­cially announced, adding that his opponent from the Social Democratic Party (SDP), Mr. Oluseyi Makinde, also con­gratulated him via a telephone call yesterday morning.

Ajimobi said: “I thank my elder brother, Senator Rashidi Ladoja (Accord), my bigger but younger brother and bo­som friend, Otunba Adebayo Alao-Akala. I also thank my younger brothers; the likes of Teslim Folarin (PDP) and Seyi Makinde and other contestants.

“I thank them for putting up a good fight. Particularly, the two of them that have called me. Alao-Akala called before the official announcement while Seyi Makinde called me in the early

Post a Comment