Oyo: Ajimobi Beaks Second Term Jinx

Oyo State Governor Abiola Ajimobi on Sunday broke the second term jinx, when he defeated 11 governorship candidate of other political party to the coveted governor seat.
Also, the defeated governorship candidates of the PDP, Senator Teslim Folarin, including the FCT Minister of State, Oloye Jumoke Akinjide, Accord Party candidate, Senator Rashidi Ladoja and Seyi Makinde of the Social Democratic Party in the last Saturday governorship election, lost their local government areas to the APC.
The election of the incumbent governor and his return to the Agodi Government House  might force both Ladoja and Akala into retirement.
Before the final result was released, the PDP candidate, Folarin had conceded defeat to whoever wins the election.
Folarin in a statement aired in a private radio station in Ibadan noted that with the results being released by INEC, his party cannot win the election.
Announcing the result, the state chief returning officer, Professor Ayobami Salami, disclosed that the governor scored 327,310 votes as against his arch-rival, Senator Rashidi Ladoja of the Accord Party who piled 254,522 votes.
While Labour Party’s Alao-Akala scored 182,723 votes, the PDP’s candidate, Folarin polled 78,119 votes
Other results were SDP 54,740 votes, Yinusa Kazeem of the DPP, 1,654 votes, and Mustapha Rukaya of the NNPP, 4,258.
Salami who is the deputy vice chancellor (Administration), Obafemi Awolowo University (OAU), Ile-Ife, Osun State, said the governor won in 20 local government areas, Accord Party and Labour Party won in  six local government areas of the state respectively.
The PDP, SDP, KOWA, APA and AA did not win in any local government area of the state.
Meanwhile, the Labour Party candidate, Chief Christopher Adebayo Alao-Akala has congratulated the Governor Abiola Ajimobi on his victory at the poll.
Akala’s Public Affairs Director, Oludare Ogunlana said in a statement that Akala had called Ajimobi on phone to congratulate him.
All the representatives of the participating political parties signed the election result sheet with the exception of Accord Party’s National Secretary, Nureni Adisa who claimed that the party’s mandate had been stolen.
He said that the result of the election would be challenged at the election petition tribunal.
The Resident Electoral Commissioner disclosed that the APC won 18 seats in the state House of Assembly while Accord Party had 8 and Labour Party F seats respectively.

Post a Comment