PDP’ll bounce back April 11 – Akpabio

Governors laud Jonathan for conceding defeat

Peoples Democratic Party (PDP) governors yesterday commended President Goodluck Jonathan for his statesman­ship and sacrifice for accept­ing the result of last Saturday’s election.

Speaking with State House correspondents after they met with Jonathan at the Presidential Villa, Akwa Ibom State Gover­nor Godswill Akpabio said the PDP remains the party that had maintained peace and refrained from violence in spite of the anomalies witnessed during the elections.

The meeting with the gover­nors came shortly after the All Progressives Congress (APC) candidate, General Muhammadu Buhari, received his Certificate of Return from the Independent National Electoral Commission (INEC) as the winner of the poll.

Akpabio said the PDP remains undaunted, noting that the party would bounce back in the April 11 gubernatorial election . Akpabio said, “as governors, we came to pay solidarity with our President and to commend him for being a statesman. He (Jonathan) has done something that no African leader has done in such a flawed exercise, with underaged voters everywhere, and with disparity among states.

“Some were not using Card Readers, some failed Card Readers, some using manual and some states not using manual and some just taking ballot papers to Government Houses, particularly in certain parts of the country.

“It was a very flawed exercise, yet, he looked at it and said in spite of it all, I want to ensure peace, unity and stability of the country, let me give an oppor­tunity to the APC presidential candidate to come in and then give in his own to the country.

“That kind of sacrifice by a President can only come from a PDP president and that is why we are very proud of what has happened”, Akpabio said.

Jonathan congratulated Buhari for his victory Tuesday evening.

Akpabio dismissed reports that the PDP National Chairman, Adamu Mu’azu, has resigned his appointment, saying, he spoke with Mu’azu 30 minutes earlier and nothing of such happened.

At the meeting yesterday were Governors Theodore Orji (Abia); Seriake Dickson (Beyelsa) and Liyel Imoke (Cross River); Idris Wada (Kogi); Emmanuel Uduaghan (Delta); Martin Elechi (Ebonyi); Ibrahim Dankwambo (Gombe); Murktar Yero (Kaduna); Jonah Jang (Plateau); and Sullivan Chime (Enugu).

Post a Comment