Police make special plans for Kwara, Ogun, Oyo, Lagos, others

The police have deployed Special Forces in Rivers State because of the tense political atmosphere, Inspector General of Police Suleiman Abba said yesterday.

In Rivers are: “32 units of Police Mobile Force (PMF), four unit of Counter Terrorism Units (CTU), four unit of Special Protection Units (SPU) and six crack teams of detectives from the Force Criminal Investigation Department (FCID) and complements of Intelligence officers.”

Governorship and Houses of Assembly elections are slated for tomorrow.

In Rivers State, no fewer than 56 members of the All Progressives Congress (APC) have been killed in recent weeks, the party has claimed.

The IG has also deployed Assistant Inspectors-General (AIGs) and Commissioners of Police to supervise the elections.

Six Deputy Inspectors-General of Police (DIGs) are to coordinate security in the six geo-political zones.

The deployments are contained in a statement by the Force spokesman, Emmanuel Ojukwu.

The 16 AIGs are: “AIG Usman A. Gwary – Abia State, AIG Olufemi Adenaike – Kwara State, AIG Mbu J. Mbu – Ogun State, AIG Patrick Dey Dokumor – Kaduna State, AIG Tambari Y. Muhammed – Jigawa State, and AIG Mohammed Jinjiri Abubakar – Gombe State.

Others are: “AIG Ikemefuna R. Okoye – Oyo State, AIG Tunde Ogunsakin – Rivers State, AIG Jubril O. Adeniji – Bauchi State, AIG Yerima Irimiya – Imo State, AIG Baba Adisa Bolanta – Akwa Ibom State, AIG Lawal Tanko – Lagos State, AIG Ballah M. Nasarawa – Benue State, AIG Musa Abdulsalam Daura – Edo State, AIG Aderele T. Shinaba – Plateau State and AIG Bala A. Hassan – Sokoto State.

Four Commissioners of Police were deployed as follows: CP Sam Okaula, Anambra State; CP E. J. Ibine,- Ekiti State; CP Adamu Mohammed Enugu State; and CP Valentine Ntomchukwu, Osun State.

Abba also deployed Commissioners of Police to command each of the senatorial zones of; Gombe, Bauchi, Imo, Akwa Ibom, Lagos, Benue, Edo, Plateau and Sokoto states.

Post a Comment