Imo APC coalition adopts Madumere as consensus aspirant for Owerri zone.

The leadership of All Progressives Congress (APC), Coalition in  Imo State also  known as the Allied Forces  led by Dr. Hillary Eke, has endorsed Deputy Governor,  Prince Eze Madumere as its consensus candidate for the governorship primaries in the state.

The coalition was also said to have adopted Senator Hope Uzodinma is the   consensus governorship aspirant for Orlu zone.

The endorsement, according to a statement signed by media aide to Madumere, Uche Onwuchekwa,  was made after  a meeting on Sunday evening at the Senator Osita Izunso’s country home in Oru-West Local Government area of the State.

Madumere was said to have scored 14 out of the 18 votes from the local government chairmen of the coalition.

The statement said that the party considered avoiding aspirants with baggage and focussed on integrity, acceptability and capacity.

“The APC leaders took the decision after serious considerations of the pedigree of the array of aspirants from the zone.

“Adopting a democratic procedure, the selection was done through a voting process where Chairmen of the party drawn from 9 local government areas of the State. At the second session, 10 State Executive members voted among the Coalition aspirants involved in the election process were Prince Eze Madumere, Jude Ejiogu and Commodore Peter Gbujie (rtd).

“Among the party Chairmen, 6 of them from Ikeduru, Ezinihitte Mbaise, Mbaitoli, Aboh Mbaise, Ahiazu and Ngor Okpala local government areas of the State voted for Prince Madumere. In the same manner, Sir Jude Ejiogu scored 2 votes from Owerri North and Owerri west Local Government areas. Meanwhile, Commodore Peter Gbujie scored 1 vote from Owerri Municipal Council.

“During the second session of the election, which involved 9 members of the State Officers drawn from Owerri zone, Prince Madumere scored 8 votes out of 9 while Sir Ejiogu scored 1. Chief Clement Anozie popularly was the Coordinator of the electioneering process.”

“Among members of State Exco that voted were Canice Amadi, Barr. Charles Mbakwe, Chief ACB Nkwopara, Barr. Charles Jaja. Others were Ukaegbu, Onyekachi, Mrs. Nwigwe, Elagamba. However, Dr. Hilary Eke did not vote.”

Post a Comment